Recession Wine and Food

Due to past hard times, I’m always trying to find a way to use leftovers or find good deals. I’ll use leftovers for salads or hodge podge stews. One time, I lived on pantry food for six weeks with my husband. It helped save  us a lot of money.

Rating: 3 out of 4 stars

 A couple of days ago, a fellow Yelper taught me about Lucky Duck wine or “recession wine” as she calls it. She loathes Walmart, but she goes there to get her favorite Lucky Duck Malbec or Cabernet wine for $3.97.  Yesterday I sampled the Lucky Duck Malbec wine with some leftover Indian food: curried potatoes, fresh diced tomatoes, leftover stewed onions, and diced chicken meatballs mixed with some Archer Farm Indian spicy  Vindaloo Sauce over white jasmine rice (my biggest weakness). It went well with the food, and the meal and wine cost almost nothing. My husband caught a glimpse of what I was eating and took a few bites. He loved it and accused me of holding out on him. A good sign. He is such a picky eater.

The copy on the back of the wine reads:

Lucky you! We searched the globe to create a collection of authentic, great tasting international wines, with layers of flavor.

Deep aromas of blueberries and chocolate. Enjoy Lucky Duck alone or paired with grilled meats, vegetables, or sharp cheeses.”

Imported & Bottled by Lucky Duck Winery Ripon, CA.

 

The Lucky Duck Chardonnay wine was ok. It has a sharp citrus taste to it, and I prefer a creamy butter taste like the one found in Glen Ellen Chardonnay ( just as cheap as the Lucky Duck wine). Today, I’m making an onion and cabbage stew today with a radish, beef broth, parsley, and balsamic vinegar – another hodge podge crock pot stew after swiping large 3 pound bags of onions for $1.50 each. I’m going to eat it with the Lucky Duck bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon, another red wine.

Leave a Reply

