My Exercise DVD Collection

             I do this exercise dvd 4 or more times a week.

This is a sample of this exercise DVD: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=82ckL5MKVuM&feature=fvw

               I refer to this dvd as BFBM in my blog.

                                Intense cardio with old school calisthenics and kickboxing moves.

                                  7 Hellish Circuits designed by the devil himself. Very high calorie burn.

                             The plyometrics are hard on the knees. You might want to do optional exercises or wear Sketchers shape ups to absorb the shock or impact you get from jumping up and down a lot. Reviewers of this dvd say it made them lose 4 -25 pounds doing it on a regular basis  – in a week or a few months. I eat A LOT, so I haven’t seen that much weight loss. I am still trying to find a good diet niche. Luckily, I don’t like sweets too much. My weakness is meat. My body is more firm from doing this cardio dvd.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Another hellish workout focusing on body sculpting/ toning trouble zones like muffin tops, flabby arms, glutes,  and saddle bags.

I refer to this dvd as NMTZ in my blog.

This is a segment of NMTZ: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o6OCVEga_bc&feature=related

Best ab and core workout. Jillian Michaels will show you how to shape your glutes and abs with more advanced moves. I prefer to do the advanced moves when doing this dvd, because I love getting definition without building bulky muscle.

This is the most painful exercise dvd I’ve sampled. My abs ached for two days straight after doing this the first time. Didn’t think I would be able to finish the complete workout, but I did.

I do this DVD 2 or more times a week. This is the DVD  I love to avoid the most due to the pain factor, yet it is essential in toning my body.

 

30 Day Shred – The Must Buy Exercise DVD

If you aren’t use to exercising, this is the best DVD to get.

20 Minutes of Circuit Training: Strength, Cardio, and Core

3 Levels of Difficulty

Advanced and Beginner options in each level.

You pick the level. Some people do ten days for each level to reach the 30 Day mark. I did.

Great for people with busy lifestyles or low strength and endurance.

I started my 30 Day Shred on January 8,2010 and finished on February 14,2010.

I use this DVD when I do NMTZ to burn 700 or more calories a day. 2 or more times a week.

This DVD made it easier to transition to more difficult exercises.

My husband did Level 1 with me and wanted to stop after doing one circuit, but he finished it after taking a lot of breaks.

Jillian Michaels is not a powder puff instructor, and I like her practical approach.

She makes remarks like: ” These abs don’t come for free.”

 

To get a glimpse of this workout: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fuJcM93v9AY

 

PROS:

You see people of both sexes and all sizes

Easy to do

Little stress and impact on knees

Relaxing

Helps you to focus and destress

Not very demanding

     CONS: 

     Instructor can be a little annoying, but I’m hyper sensitive about instructors.

    Options can be confusing. I do all the advance options in this exercise DVD.

   Calorie burn is low.

   Don’t need weights, but you might want to invest in an exercise ball and weights to get the maximum workout.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tom Stevens
    Mar 10, 2010 @ 12:27:59

    Yes, that is correct with your conclusion. I am going to do some research and post it here for clarity. Stay tuned and I’ll be back with the info. I made sure to bookmark the site so I’ll be able to find my way back. LOL Also, if any of you women need effective ab exercises for women don’t hesitate to come on over.

    Reply

  2. Stacy of KSW
    Mar 13, 2010 @ 12:55:51

    Sounds like we have a similar DVD workout collection. I had a C-section last year and started myself out on the Wii Fit, eventually I worked myself up to the 30 Day Shred. This year I turned a new leaf and have started NMTX & BFBM, I love these workouts. I try to vary them in my weekly workouts, plus make sure I walk at least 15 miles a week and do one long run. So far, so good. Today I marked my first goal of losing 10 lbs this year. 20 more to go and I’ll be one fit lady.

    I’m glad to see you talking about Jillian’s Yoga DVD, I can’t wait to give it a try.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

